Shark Week

Watch Online

Photo by Universal History Archive/Universal Image

Cow and Frilled Sharks

These are the most primitive living sharks. They have one dorsal fin and six or seven gills, and unlike most sharks these ones don’t have a translucent eyelid to protect their eyes. There are only seven living species of this order. Examples include: African Frilled Shark, Bigeyed Sixgill Shark, and Bluntnose Sixgill Shark.
Photo by DeAgostini/Getty Images

Dog and Angelfish Sharks

There are approximately 126 species in this order. They have two dorsal fins, which usually have spines, a sharp head, five to seven gills, and no anal fin or protective eyelid. These sharks can be found all over the world. Examples include: Dwarf Gulper Shark, Longsnout Dogfish, and Pocket Shark.
Saw Shark by Rrrrred licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0


There are eight to 10 rare and unique species in this order. Mostly found in the Indian and Pacific Oceans but can be found in many other areas. Sharks in this order have long, saw-like snouts with sharp teeth that they use to attack prey. Examples include: Tropical Sawshark, Japanese Sawshark, and Longnose Sawshark.
Photo by Auscape/Universal Images Group via Getty


Species in this order look very similar to rays, having flat bodies and wide fins. Most of these sharks live in shallow, mild temperature or tropical waters, though a few sharks live in deeper water. Examples include: Sand Devil, Angelshark (Monkfish) and Taiwan Angelshark.
Photo by Jeff Rotman Photography/Corbis via Getty

Bullhead Sharks

There are nine species of living sharks in this order and aren’t very big in size. They have large heads with stubby snouts, a groove between their nostrils and mouths, two dorsal fins, and an anal fin. These sharks are bottom feeders in tropical and subtropical waters and are clumsy swimmers. Examples include: Port Jackson Shark, Crested Bullhead Shark, and Mexican Hornshark.
Photo by Dave J Hogan/Dave J Hogan/Getty Images

Mackerel Sharks

This order of sharks has 17 living species and includes some of the most well-known sharks like the great white and the extinct megalodon. They have two dorsal fins, an anal fin, five gills, and a mouth that extends past its eyes. These sharks have a higher body temperature than the water surrounding them. Examples include: Great White Shark and extinct Megalodon.
Andrey Nekrasov / Barcroft Media via Getty Images

Carpet Sharks

This order is nicknamed for the patterns of some species that resemble carpet patterns. These sharks have two dorsal fins, five gills, and short mouths. A number of species in this order also have barbels, small whisker-
like sensory organs near their mouths. The whale shark, the largest fish in the ocean, is a species in this order. Whale Sharks are an example of this order.
Jorge Sanz/Pacific Press/LightRocket via Getty

Ground Sharks

This is the largest order of sharks with over 250 species. It includes commonly known sharks like the tiger shark and the hammerhead shark.These sharks have a protective eyelid, two dorsal fins, an anal fin, and five
gills. Examples include: Catsharks, Swellsharks, and the Sandbar Shark.